Unicorn Cake

thumb_img_3393_1024_fotorthumb_img_3395_1024thumb_img_3399_1024_fotorI’m sorry I’ve been neglecting my little blog recently, life just catches up with you and days pass by so quickly and the list you had seems to get longer and longer.

About a month ago we celebrated Adams birthday. Since we’ve been together I’ve always made his birthday cake so this year was no different.

I decided to go a little different with the cake and it was inspired by a Cupcake Jemma design. I normally make a chocolate and salted caramel cake but this year I went with a plain 4 layer maderia cake stacked with copious amounts of strawberry jam and vanilla buttercream. Yum!

I crumb coated the cake in the same vanilla buttercream and left it for about an hour in the fridge. I always used to skip this step when I was making cakes but it really makes a big difference and is a huge help when it comes to covering the cake in either buttercream or fondant.

During the time it was in the fridge I made all the coloured buttercream and the marshmallow meringues for the top. When making coloured buttercream make sure and use gel food colouring, liquid colouring changes the consistency of the buttercream, so its best to stick with gels.

The marshmallow meringues also from Cupcake Jemma had a little marshmallow surprise in them which I thought was super cute and made it that little bit more special. I painted the food colours onto the piping bag so that when I piped the meringue mixture it added a splash of colour to them. This was my first attempt at colouring the meringues and I need to add a lot more colouring to the piping bag.

By the time all this was done, the cake was ready to come out of the fridge and I piped the colouring around the cake and then used a scraper to smooth it all out and leave it looking like a rainbow ombré style. Finally I popped the meringues on top of the cake and sprinkled some sprinkles to finish it off.

Let me know what you think? Are you going to try to make this, if you do let me know how you get on!

For the cake (Cupcake Jemma Recipe) 170oC for 24-26 mins

610g soft unsalted butter
610g caster sugar
9 large eggs
150g self raising flour
460g plain flour
3tbs whole milk
1tsp vanilla extract

Meringue (Cupcake Jemma Recipe) 100oC for 30-35 mins

2 egg whites
Double the weight of egg whites in caster sugar
Pinch of salt
Dash of vanilla extract
Gel food colourings

Chat soon,
Lisa xo

Leave a Reply

