What to do in Milan?

Adam and I spent our Easter break this year in Milan, or should I say Milano! I had done my research before going so that I knew what there was to do while we were there, so let me give you a run down of what we did with our time in Milan, in the hope that it helps you, if you ever decide to give it a visit.

1. Visit the Duomo di Milano
IMG_0106IMG_2139IMG_2174I don’t think I could make this post without including a trip to the Duomo. I’ll not bore you too much about the history of the Duomo, partially because I know very little about it, other than it’s the 4th largest Cathedral in Europe. The Duomo sits right in the middle of Milan so it’s impossible to miss. To visit inside the Cathedral costs €3. The queues were so long to get tickets, that we decided about an hour before the ticket office closed, we would go and stand in the queue and buy tickets for the following day, which I highly recommend doing. You also have the option of paying an extra €9 (So €12 in total) to walk up the steps to the roof of the Duomo. Again this is a personal choice whether you want to do this or not, because there is 251 very small, very cramped and very spirally steps to walk up to get to the top. (I mean you could pay another €4 (so €16 in total) to get the lift to the top. But really is it worth it?

2. Take a day trip to ModenaIMG_0178.JPGThis is maybe one that you can use to convince your boyfriend/fiance/husband to take a trip to Milan so that really you can do Number 3 on my list. Modena is around 1hr 30 minutes away from Milan by train (depending on the train). I booked our train tickets online via Trainline.eu. The website is so quick and simple to use. I recommend using the Frecciabianca trainline where possible as its a ‘bullet train’ and takes 1 hour less than the TrainItalia.

A hidden gem in the town of Modena is the Enzo Ferrari Museum. Now, this may not be for every girl, but maybe you’re like me and you happen to like supercars. The Enzo Ferrari Museum its a show room of classic Ferraris from the golden oldies to the newest of new. I booked our tickets online here, but you can also pay on the day. You can buy a combination ticket which costs €26 each and this grants you access to the other Ferrari Museum in Maranello. You will need to pay for the shuttle bus to take you to the Museum in Maranello as its 30-40 mins away and will cost you €12 each. This can be an expensive trip especially if your significant other wants to drive a Ferrari (which mine did). Push Start is located right beside Ferrari Museum Maranello and they have a range of Ferraris to choose from. Adam choose the Ferrari GTC4Lusso to test drive and it didn’t disappoint. We found this company to be the best. They were super nice and helped a lot as it was a left hand drive car and helping with the roads (the Italians drive on the right side of the road).

3. Get your purse out and SHOP!IMG_1968IMG_1994Can you really go to Milan and not shop? It’s one of the worlds fashion captials, so it would be a shame to not shop. Your man got his day in Modena, now it’s your turn. Milan has a whole fashion district located in the heart of the city. Big brands include Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Prada, Dior, Valentino, Louboutin, Armani, Burberry, Hermès, Cartier, Chanel, Tiffany’s and Dolce & Gabana (to name but a few). Along side these big designers you’ll find more high street shops like Zara, Abercrombie, Mango, H&M and Victoria Secret. I did treat myself to a pair of Louboutins while I was away, after all, Adam drove a Ferrari so I’m allowed to treat myself too, right?

4. See Leonardo da Vinci’s famous Last Supper PaintingIMG_2272-2If you’re planning on visiting, make sure book tickets well in advance, like months in advance if possible. We didn’t realise that booking is a must and all we got to see was the front door! Which I can tell you just doesn’t quite have the same Aw about it. We’ve decided that if we ever find ourselves in the North of Italy we will book tickets and travel back to Milan for the day to see the painting. It was the only ‘touristy’ thing we didn’t get to see.

Have you ever been to Milan?  I have a bucket list of places to visit, but I’d love to hear your suggestions.

Chat soon,
Lisa xo

Leave a Reply

